The John L. Sullivan Mentor Award

The John L. Sullivan Mentor Award

The International Society of Political Psychology presents the John L. Sullivan Mentor Award annually. John L. Sullivan, Professor of Political Science, Emeritus, University of Minnesota, was central in establishing the political psychology program at the University of Minnesota as a joint venture of both the psychology and political science departments. His work has been central to the field for several decades, and his students and their students now form the core of the field. This award therefore honors faculty who, like Sullivan, have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to and a history of success in the mentorship of undergraduate students, graduate students and postdoctoral scholars. The John L. Sullivan Mentor Award is for faculty engaged in the field of political psychology.

Sullivan aided undergraduate and graduate students, collaborators and faculty colleagues beyond count. He did so quietly and in ways often unnoticed even by those he helped, but most who know him are aware of the impact he had. In brief, his mentoring took many forms, but a common thread in John Sullivan’s legacy is his ability to form collaborations based on equal status among all participants. The program was and remains a leader among political psychology interdisciplinary programs.

To honor those who have distinguished themselves as mentors, we seek nominations of faculty who have demonstrated excellent mentorship in multiple ways that may include:

  • Providing intellectual leadership directed at encouraging and enabling their peers and students.
  • Building institutions for research and scholarship that assist scholars in the various aspects of their growth into able scholars. In various ways political psychology has greatly benefited by enduring institutions beyond the academic calendar to foster the field. Among these are the Summer Academies, beginning with that of Ohio State University, now at Stanford University, the ISPP’s summer academy and conferences such as the bi-annual New York Area Political Psychology Meeting.
  • Integrating students and/or postdoctoral scholars into the broader culture of the field of political psychology.
  • Demonstrating leadership and initiative at the program level to improve improve mentorship access and quality for all participants ranging from undergraduates to senior faculty.

Recipients of The John L. Sullivan Mentor Award will receive an award of $500.


  • Nominees must be faculty members who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to and a sustained period of success in mentorship.
  • Nominators should document the contributions of those they nominate attending to the many forms forms that mentorship can take.

Nomination procedure

Nominations may be submitted by current and former graduate students, postdoctoral scholars, and faculty colleagues.

Our thanks to those who have provided the initial funding for this award:

John AldrichJames L GibsonMark Peffley
Barbara AllenEwa GolebiowskaDavid Peterson
Davida AlperinPaul GorenJonathan Peterson
Patricia AveryDana GriffinJames Piereson
Karen BirdPakou HangWendy Rahn
Eugene BorgidaRussell HansonNigel Roberts
Angie Bos & Bas van DoornHenriet HendriksJohn Romano & Mary Kay Metz
Thomas Brothen & Elizabeth MolbergJon HurwitzThomas Rudolph
Diana BurgessMelinda JacksonMartin & Ellen Sampson
Chris ChappLawrence JacobsMonica C. Schneider
Yun-han ChuWilliam JacobyMichal Shamir
Terry Collings & Carol MillerAmy E. JaspersonPhil Shively
Pamela Johnston ConoverCraig & Margaret Bull KoveraThomas Skovholt & Lisa Yost
Lois B. CooperJennifer LambeElizabeth Smith
Michael X. Delli CarpiniHoward LavineMark Snyder
Bud and Cathy DuvallGeorge E. MarcusDaniel Stevens
Rachel EstroffGreg McAvoyJames Stimson
Daniel DeznerPatrick MeirickElizabeth Theiss-Morse
Chris FedericoJoanne MillerJohn Transue
Stanley FeldmanRobert O’ConnorMark Watts
John & Barbara FreemanPaula O’LoughlinIan Williamson
Amy FriedAlina OxendineJason Young

Return to Awards home