Harold Lasswell Award for Outstanding Scientific Accomplishment in Political Psychology

Harold Lasswell Award for Outstanding Scientific Accomplishment in Political Psychology

The Lasswell Award is given for “distinguished scientific contribution in the field of political psychology.” It is named for Harold Lasswell, one of the first to apply psychology to the analysis of politics. He was, thereby, also one of the first to encounter the problems of interdisciplinary work: because of resistance to his ideas, from 1937 to 1950 not a single article of his was published in a political science journal. However, he continued to publish (in psychological and psychiatric journals, and books), and so ultimately he won recognition, being elected President of APSA in 1955. He taught at Chicago, Yale, CUNY, Temple, and finally Columbia.

How to Nominate:

All nominations must include the following: A short paragraph explaining why she/he deserves the award and a CV of the nominee.  To complete a nomination, simply send these materials to the Committee Chair by the deadline.

The award recipient will be strongly encouraged to attend the Annual Meeting and Awards Reception and may be asked to give a talk at the annual meeting the year after they receive the award, in recognition of their work in the field.

2021 Award Committee:

John Sullivan (Chair)
University of Minnesota, USA

Other Committee Members:
Rita Guerra (ISCTE-IUL)
Eva Walther (Trier University)
Fatih Uenal (University of Cambridge)
Christopher Federico (University of Minnesota)
Lia Figgou (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)
Michal Shamir (Tel Aviv University)
Patrizia Castellani (Catholic University Of Milan)

THE NOMINATION PROCESS FOR 2021 is NOW CLOSED. Please send submissions to the Chair. The deadline for nominations was 15 January 2021.

Winners will be notified by early March 2021.

Harold Lasswell Award for Outstanding Scientific Accomplishment in Political Psychology
Fathali Moghaddam, Georgetown University

Dr. Fathali Moghaddam is a pioneer in political psychology and has made extraordinary contributions in both applied and research domains internationally over the last 40 years. He has notably contributed to a deeper understanding of the psychology of dictatorship and democracy, as well as the process of mutual radicalization, which results in spirals of intergroup conflict. Moving away from individualistic approaches in political psychology, he has argued and demonstrated how the societal context shapes psychological processes and individual behavior, such as terrorism. Throughout his career, Fathali has been a firm and vocal advocate for moving beyond western perspectives of political psychology, and psychological science in general, and pushing for the development of psychology that better meets the needs of low-income societies. As editor of Peace and Conflict: Journal of Peace Psychology he has contributed in shaping this sub-field of political psychology. Since 9/11 he has actively participated in efforts to correct APA policy on torture. These distinguished contributions to the field of political psychology lead the committee to recommend Dr. Moghaddam for the 2020 Lasswell Award.

Past Winners

  • 2019 George Marcus
  • 2018 Stephen Reicher
  • 2017 Jack Citrin
  • 2016 Linda Skitka
  • 2015 Virginia Sapiro
  • 2014 M. Kent Jennings
  • 2013 Bert Klandermans
  • 2012 Ervin Staub
  • 2011 Daniel Bar-Tal
  • 2010 Tom Pettigrew
  • 2009 Steven R. Brown
  • 2008 Philip Tetlock
  • 2007 David Winter
  • 2006 Jim Sidanius
  • 2005 Milton Lodge
  • 2004 Robert Jervis
  • 2003 Marilynn Brewer
  • 2002 John L. Sullivan
  • 2001 Peter Suedfeld
  • 2000 Fred I. Greenstein
  • 1999 William McGuire
  • 1998 Paul Sniderman
  • 1997 Betty Glad
  • 1996 Robert P. Abelson
  • 1995 David O. Sears
  • 1994 Lucian Pye
  • 1993 M. Brewster Smith
  • 1992 Dean G. Pruitt
  • 1991 Robert E. Lane
  • 1990 Philip E. Converse
  • 1989 Robert C. Tucker
  • 1988 Milton Rokeach
  • 1987 Jerome D. Frank
  • 1986 Anatol Rapaport
  • 1985 Alexander George
  • 1984 James MacGregor Burns
  • 1983 Myres McDougal
  • 1982 Leonard Doob
  • 1981 Erik Erikson
  • 1980 Angus Campbell
  • 1979 Nathan Leites

Return to Awards home