Nevitt Sanford Award for Outstanding Professional Contributions to Political Psychology

Nevitt Sanford Award for Outstanding Professional Contributions to Political Psychology

For Professional Contributions to Political Psychology

Nevitt Sanford was deeply influenced by John Dewey, who imposed upon the scholar the obligation to put knowledge to work in the solution of social problems. Thus the ISPP was dear to his heart. Nevitt’s problem-centered approach to the generation of human knowledge involved not only perceiving but also doing or making, so his interests ranged widely through the disciplines, much like ISPP. His specialization was in personality theory and human problems, particularly the authoritarian personality and social destructiveness, higher education and adult development.

This award, set up in the honor of Nevitt Sanford, is to be given yearly to someone deemed by the committee to be 1) engaged in the practical application of political psychological principles, or 2) creating knowledge that is accessible and used by practitioners to make a positive difference in the way politics is carried out.

How to Nominate:

All nominations must include the following: A short paragraph explaining why she/he deserves the award and a CV of the nominee.  To complete a nomination, simply send these materials to the Committee Chair by the deadline.

The award recipient will be strongly encouraged to attend the Annual Meeting and Awards Reception and may be asked to give a talk at the annual meeting the year after they receive the award, in recognition of their work in the field.

2021 Award Committee:

John Sullivan (Chair)
University of Minnesota, USA
Other Committee Members:
Rita Guerra (ISCTE-IUL)
Eva Walther (Trier University)
Fatih Uenal (University of Cambridge)
Christopher Federico (University of Minnesota)
Lia Figgou (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)
Michal Shamir (Tel Aviv University)
Patrizia Castellani (Catholic University Of Milan)

THE NOMINATION PROCESS FOR 2021 is NOW CLOSED. Please send submissions to the Chair. The deadline for nominations was 15 January 2021.

Winners will be notified by early March 2021.

First awarded in 1979.

Nevitt Sanford Award for Outstanding Professional Contributions to Political Psychology
Orla Muldoon, University of Limerick

Dr. Orla Muldoon has made prolific research contributions in political psychology over the last 25 years with a focus on the power of groups through social identity, as well as social identity processes underlying well-being and trauma in contexts of adversity. In the spirit of Nevitt Sanford, Orla is strongly committed to making academic knowledge work in the solution of social problems internationally and locally by informing politics, policy and practice. In Ireland, Orla Muldoon has raised awareness of health risks, stimulated public debate and improved understanding amongst communities affected everyday by adversity and inequality on topics ranging from suicide prevention, reproductive rights, chronic disability, children’s rights to meet incarcerated parents, to political violence relating to the legacy of The Troubles. Internationally, her research has informed policy on supporting victims of terrorism. Orla has also used her knowledge of political psychology in Nepal to encourage activism that resulted in rebuilding a school after an earthquake and by tackling the stigma related to leprosy in local communities. The breadth and international extent of these professional contributions to the field of political psychology lead the committee to recommend Dr. Muldoon for the 2020 Sanford Award.

Past Winners

  • 2019 Linda Tropp
  • 2018 Kevin Durrheim
  • 2017 Stephen Reicher and Alex Haslam
  • 2016 Jon Krosnick
  • 2015 Stanley Feldman
  • 2014 Leonie Huddy
  • 2013 Kristin Monroe
  • 2012 Daniel Bar-Tal
  • 2011 Ronald Fisher
  • 2010 Peter Loewenberg
  • 2009 Not Awarded
  • 2008 Joe Montville
  • 2007 Doris Graber
  • 2006 Henk Dekker
  • 2005 Helen Haste
  • 2004 Martha Crenshaw
  • 2003 Ervin Staub
  • 2002 Jerrold Post
  • 2001 Judith Torney-Purta
  • 2000 Jansuz Reykowski
  • 1999 Hal Saunders
  • 1998 Elizabeth Lira Kornberg
  • 1997 Phil Tetlock
  • 1996 M. Kent Jennings
  • 1995 Margaret G. Hermann
  • 1994 Vamik D. Volkan
  • 1993 Roberta Sigel
  • 1992 Robert Jervis
  • 1991 Richard Christie
  • 1990 Irving L. Janis
  • 1989 Ralf G. Dahrendorf
  • 1988 Ole R. Holsti
  • 1987 Ralph K. White
  • 1986 Robert E. Lane
  • 1985 Morton Deutsch
  • 1984 Herb Kelman
  • 1983 Gabriel Almond
  • 1982 David Reismanv
  • 1981 Hilda Himmelweit
  • 1980 David Riesman
  • 1979 Nevitt Sanford

Return to Awards home